Get Reel

Posted on April 10, 2011

0


Today was one of those days that don’t come around often enough for a guy. Me and my best buds spent the entire day fishing Biloxi Bay with Team Brodie Charters out of Biloxi, MS.  The oil spill last year really put a crimp in these Gulf Coast boy’s lifestyle. A few weeks ago, we all got permission from our better halves to book this trip. Overall we are a group of amateurs with my friend Rich, a fisheries biologist with USM Gulf Coast serving as our resident expert.   I spend a fair amount of time fishing Davis bayou and front beach in Ocean Springs with very little dinner ever to show for my efforts.  I do better with my 12″x12″ crab trap that Rich’s wife, Lori, always laughs at me for (that’s why she never gets crabs sent over to her house).  The day started slow with a few hits from croaker and white trout.  Marc provided comic relief by hooking oyster after oyster  (he gets the last laugh later though).  It was a pretty rough day so we abandoned our intention of getting out the island.  Glenn gets sea sick easy so we wanted to take it easy on her him. We headed over to the Katrina reef to see if we could get some early black drum action in.  This is where Marc decided to show the rest of us how to catch fish, a lesson we didn’t pick up on too well the rest of the day.  Marc put away several nice size drum….yes kids thanks to Uncle Marc you’ll have food on the table this week.  Rich, being the extreme fisherman that he is, liked hooking on to sting rays every chance he got.  He even brought one aboard the boat for a photo op, guess he never heard of  the crocodile guy.  We bounced around from structure to structure allowing Marc to add to our catch.  At this point, I’m just thankful there’s beer. Like one of my friends once said  “Fishing is like sex, a lot of work for a few moments of pleasure, and sometimes its the same ole catfish over and over.” For the purposes of this blog that is an anonymous quote. So at the end of the day Marc ends up with a mess of black drum and a Mack daddy Redfish (damn I’m jealous), Rich catches a few black drum and lots of rays, I hook some white trout, two black drum, and a flounder, and Glenn caught up on his fantasy baseball league.  One of my black drum was a little small so the Capt. convinced me to throw it back.  It was the right thing to do but considering the outcome of the rest of the day I regret it.  All in all it was a day that we’ll remember for a long time.  Afterall we live in the most awesome place on Earth and I have the best group of buddies a guy could ever want.  The only thing better than that was coming home to a family like mine.  I’m sure my buddies would say the same.

Posted in: Uncategorized